Couch to 5k

Average user rating 5 out of 5 stars

Running group for beginners.

Fancy getting fit but not really the sporty type?

Juice has teamed up with Run Together (formerly Run England) to provide Couch to 5K, an eleven week running course for people who want to be more active. It’s perfect if you’re new to running – it is all about starting slowly and building up gradually – anyone can start couch to 5k – you don’t need to be fit.

What is Couch to 5K?

Couch to 5K is a running course developed to help absolute beginners get into running

How does Couch to 5K work?

Probably the biggest challenge a novice runner faces is not knowing how or where to start. Often when trying to get into exercise, we can overdo it, feel defeated and give up when we’re just getting started. Couch to 5K works because it starts with a mix of running and walking, to gradually build up your fitness and stamina. Week one involves running for just a minute at a time, creating realistic expectations and making the challenge feel achievable right from the start

Who is Couch to 5K for?

Couch to 5K is for everyone. Whether you’ve never run before, or if you want to get back into being more active, Couch to 5K is an easy way of getting fitter and healthier. You don’t need any fancy gear, just a comfy pair of running shoes!

Please note by booking on to the Couch to 5K session on Thursday 21st September 2017 you will also be enrolling on the following dates:

Thursday 21st September

Thursday 28th September

Thursday 5th October

Thursday 12th October

Thursday 19th October

Thursday 26th October

Thursday 2nd November

Thursday 9th November

Thursday 16th November

Thursday 23rd November

Thursday 30th November

The aim of this course is to complete the Juice Park Run on Saturday 9th December.

Calendar

Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday Sunday
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31

Selected session

Previous Sessions

  1. Thu, 28 Jan 2016

    17:30 - 18:30

    Goodwin Sports Centre

    27 of 30 places booked
  2. Thu, 05 May 2016

    17:30 - 18:30

    Goodwin Sports Centre

    29 of 30 places booked
  3. Thu, 12 May 2016

    17:30 - 18:30

    Goodwin Sports Centre

    All booked
  4. Thu, 19 May 2016

    17:30 - 18:30

    Goodwin Sports Centre

    All booked
  5. Thu, 26 May 2016

    17:30 - 18:30

    Goodwin Sports Centre

    All booked
  6. Thu, 02 Jun 2016

    17:30 - 18:30

    Goodwin Sports Centre

    All booked
  7. Thu, 09 Jun 2016

    17:30 - 18:30

    Goodwin Sports Centre

    All booked
  8. Thu, 16 Jun 2016

    17:30 - 18:30

    Goodwin Sports Centre

    All booked
  9. Thu, 23 Jun 2016

    17:30 - 18:30

    Goodwin Sports Centre

    All booked
  10. Thu, 30 Jun 2016

    17:30 - 18:30

    Goodwin Sports Centre

    All booked
  11. Thu, 07 Jul 2016

    17:30 - 18:30

    Goodwin Sports Centre

    All booked
  12. Thu, 29 Sep 2016

    17:30 - 18:30

    Goodwin Sports Centre

    19 of 30 places booked
  13. Thu, 06 Oct 2016

    17:30 - 18:30

    Goodwin Sports Centre

    All booked
  14. Thu, 13 Oct 2016

    17:30 - 18:30

    Goodwin Sports Centre

    All booked
  15. Thu, 20 Oct 2016

    17:30 - 18:30

    Goodwin Sports Centre

    All booked
  16. Thu, 27 Oct 2016

    17:30 - 18:30

    Goodwin Sports Centre

    All booked
  17. Thu, 03 Nov 2016

    17:30 - 18:30

    Goodwin Sports Centre

    All booked
  18. Thu, 10 Nov 2016

    17:30 - 18:30

    Goodwin Sports Centre

    All booked
  19. Thu, 17 Nov 2016

    17:30 - 18:30

    Goodwin Sports Centre

    All booked
  20. Thu, 24 Nov 2016

    17:30 - 18:30

    Goodwin Sports Centre

    All booked
  21. Thu, 01 Dec 2016

    17:30 - 18:30

    Goodwin Sports Centre

    All booked
  22. Thu, 12 Jan 2017

    17:30 - 18:30

    Goodwin Sports Centre

    19 of 30 places booked
  23. Thu, 19 Jan 2017

    17:30 - 18:30

    Goodwin Sports Centre

    All booked
  24. Thu, 26 Jan 2017

    17:30 - 18:30

    Goodwin Sports Centre

    All booked
  25. Thu, 02 Feb 2017

    17:30 - 18:30

    Goodwin Sports Centre

    All booked
  26. Thu, 09 Feb 2017

    17:30 - 18:30

    Goodwin Sports Centre

    All booked
  27. Thu, 16 Feb 2017

    17:30 - 18:30

    Goodwin Sports Centre

    All booked
  28. Thu, 23 Feb 2017

    17:30 - 18:30

    Goodwin Sports Centre

    All booked
  29. Thu, 02 Mar 2017

    17:30 - 18:30

    Goodwin Sports Centre

    All booked
  30. Thu, 09 Mar 2017

    17:30 - 18:30

    Goodwin Sports Centre

    All booked
  31. Thu, 16 Mar 2017

    17:30 - 18:30

    Goodwin Sports Centre

    All booked
  32. Thu, 27 Apr 2017

    17:30 - 18:30

    Goodwin Sports Centre

    26 of 30 places booked
  33. Thu, 04 May 2017

    17:30 - 18:30

    Goodwin Sports Centre

    All booked
  34. Thu, 11 May 2017

    17:30 - 18:30

    Goodwin Sports Centre

    All booked
  35. Thu, 18 May 2017

    17:30 - 18:30

    Goodwin Sports Centre

    All booked
  36. Thu, 25 May 2017

    17:30 - 18:30

    Goodwin Sports Centre

    All booked
  37. Thu, 01 Jun 2017

    17:30 - 18:30

    Goodwin Sports Centre

    All booked
  38. Thu, 08 Jun 2017

    17:30 - 18:30

    Goodwin Sports Centre

    All booked
  39. Thu, 15 Jun 2017

    17:30 - 18:30

    Goodwin Sports Centre

    All booked
  40. Thu, 22 Jun 2017

    17:30 - 18:30

    Goodwin Sports Centre

    All booked
  41. Thu, 29 Jun 2017

    17:30 - 18:30

    Goodwin Sports Centre

    All booked
  42. Thu, 21 Sep 2017

    17:30 - 18:30

    Goodwin Sports Centre

    20 of 30 places booked
  43. Thu, 28 Sep 2017

    17:30 - 18:30

    Goodwin Sports Centre

    All booked
  44. Thu, 05 Oct 2017

    17:30 - 18:30

    Goodwin Sports Centre

    All booked
  45. Thu, 12 Oct 2017

    17:30 - 18:30

    Goodwin Sports Centre

    All booked
  46. Thu, 19 Oct 2017

    17:30 - 18:30

    Goodwin Sports Centre

    All booked
  47. Thu, 26 Oct 2017

    17:30 - 18:30

    Goodwin Sports Centre

    All booked
  48. Thu, 02 Nov 2017

    17:30 - 18:30

    Goodwin Sports Centre

    All booked
  49. Thu, 09 Nov 2017

    17:30 - 18:30

    Goodwin Sports Centre

    All booked
  50. Thu, 16 Nov 2017

    17:30 - 18:30

    Goodwin Sports Centre

    All booked
  51. Thu, 23 Nov 2017

    17:30 - 18:30

    Goodwin Sports Centre

    All booked
  52. Thu, 30 Nov 2017

    17:30 - 18:30

    Goodwin Sports Centre

    All booked
  • 5 out of 5 stars

    Would recommend to anyone who wants to get started with running but lacks motivation or doesn't know where to start, as I did at the beginning of this course. Sammy is very encouraging and keeps everyone motivated and moving even if the weather conditions are less than perfect! First park run now completed :D

    Catherine Anderson - Fri, 15 Dec 2017 14:57
  • 5 out of 5 stars

    I've really enjoyed taking part in the Couch to 5k run by Sammy and am looking forward to my first park run this weekend. Although I'm fairly fit and active I've never been able to run before due to problems with my achilles however gradually building up each week seems to have sorted this and I'm amazed at the goals we've acheived with relative ease and just how much I've enjoyed it. Sammy is really supportive and encouraging and its been so nice meeting lots of couchers from other departments. I'd love to carry on in a similar environment to train for a 10k then who knows....

    Fiona Maisey - Wed, 06 Dec 2017 11:08
  • 5 out of 5 stars

    Highly recommended for anyone wanting to take up running or just generally improve their fitness. A great session for whatever your level of ability. Very rewarding when you complete a 5k Parkrun at the end.

    Richard Davis - Fri, 01 Dec 2017 13:19
  • 5 out of 5 stars

    I decided I wanted to get fitter and thought I'd give this course a go. I was petrified - I thought I couldn't run. How wrong I was; Sammy who led the course was amazing, so encouraging and always positive, even when I was whinging. I am incredibly grateful to Sammy and now try to run once a week! I'd recommend this to everyone.

    Rebecca Freeman - Thu, 09 Nov 2017 19:10